Meet the Crew: Sam Sewell, Sound Designer

Meet Sam Sewell, who you may remember also did sound on our last production, True Believers! Sam is working with a local musician to create live sound for our upcoming show, Burning up the Dictionary. That’s right, live sound, like music and sound effects that don’t come from a computer!

How did you get involved in theatre? What is your first theatre memory?
I first got involved in theatre seriously in high school when I played the saxophone for the musicals. It was the only way I would be able to be a part of the shows at the time as I also played sports and both had major scheduling conflicts. My first theatre memory though was when I was taken to see the Nutcracker as a child. I was so terrified of the moment when Clara enters the Nutcracker’s world and everything becomes bigger. I had nightmares about that owl clock growing for months afterwards, yikes!

How did you get involved in this production? What has been your favorite thing about working on the play so far?
I was able to join the Vagabond kids on their last production True Believers and had a blast. That segued into working on this show  when they asked me to work with them again, thankfully. My favorite thing is getting to work with these fine kids again and all that goes with that. I also enjoy the fact that we can collaborate so well together and they are totally down for having me bring a friend in to work with me and help create what I think will be the next way we move forward with sound in live theatre.

What is the best story you have from a first date? (can be a terrible first date, or maybe the best one ever!)
My mom set me up on my first date. Ok but in all honesty I was in 7th grade so like 13 years old and I had only been to one dance with this boy, recently. A week after that dance he called me and asked if I wanted to see a movie and go to Arby’s in two days. I literally blanked and had to hand the phone to my mom who proceeded to set the whole thing up with his mother and figure out who would drive and what not. We went on the date and broke up two weeks later.

Do you think celebrating Valentine’s Day is corny?
No holiday where you can receive candy is corny.

What is the best gift you ever received from a significant other?
A Leatherman

* * *

Sam Sewell is a recent graduate of Northeastern University where she studied Music Industry and Theatre. Since graduating she has worked on a variety of shows including; Car Talk the Musical!!!, and Remembering H.M. at the Central Square Theatre, Wild Swans, and B.O.B. A Life In Five Acts with the A.R.T. And last but not least True Believers with the Vagabond Theatre Group. She is currently on track to be studying the local music in a remote village somewhere in the future, but for the present moment she enjoys creating art with the fine artisans of Boston.

One thought on “Meet the Crew: Sam Sewell, Sound Designer

Leave a Reply

