Meet the Crew: Josh Friedensohn, Technical Director, Set Designer

If you weren’t in theatre, what would you do?
I’m an engineer by education, so I suppose I would follow that path. I really enjoy working with my hands and seeing the things I plan and design come to life in a physical form. So I could see myself going a variety of ways with that: anywhere from architecture to roller coasters!

What has been your favorite thing about working on the play so far?
My favorite thing about this play so far is that we’re working in a rather challenging space tech-wise. It’s taking a lot of creative thinking to transform Rehearsal Hall A into the kind of intimate playing space we want it to be to fit this show. I’m incredibly impressed with what our fantastic crew of designers has come up with so far, so please come out and see the fruits of their labor. I promise you won’t be disappointed.

What is the best story you have from a first date? (can be a terrible first date, or maybe the best one ever!)
This is rather embarrassing, and not true to my character at all (I swear!), but I once met a woman and went on one date with her using a pseudonym. It wasn’t until just before our second date that I actually told her my real name, and to her credit, she took it in stride and the second date did take place! I’m glad to have that story, but I will never do something like that again.

If you could go on a date with one celebrity, who would it be and why?
Princess Leia, of course!

What one trait (physical or personality-wise) do you find most attractive?
I find honesty to be an incredibly attractive quality. A woman who can seamlessly mix candor with humor instantly has my attention.

* * *

Josh has been with Vagabond since day one and is proud to once again attach his name to a VTG production. Josh is originally from Irvington, NY and currently works as an Acoustics Project Manager for Electric Boat in Connecticut. But, as usual, no distance and nobuddy will stop him from working with this wonderful group of individuals. He has been graced with an amazing team of designers, technicians and artists who have worked together seamlessly to develop a world for this story to take shape in. He would like to thank James, Eveleen & Erica for their tremendous support on this production and Meron for providing an incredible landscape for us to explore our creativity. Enjoy the show and keep smiling!

Leave a Reply

