Meet the Crew: Santiago Cárdenas, Musican

Santiago during a brainstorm for live sound in Burning up the Dictionary

Meet Santiago Cárdenas, the absolutely FANTASTIC musician who organically created an original score for Burning up the Dictionary! For more about Santiago and his music, check out his website (or read below!)

How did you get involved in theatre? What is your first theatre memory?
I guess I never got tired of the idea of ‘play’. So theater was something I enjoyed doing growing up. As a musician, the opportunity to play for live theater is really enjoyable, especially because of the liberty it generates.

If theatre is not your full-time job, what do you do on the side?
I work as an assistant for a person with a disability. It is a wonderful job that keeps me in good perspective of myself. Its fun 🙂

How did you get involved in this production? What has been your favorite thing about working on the play so far?
Sam told me/ asked me about it and I said ‘yes’ . Getting to use actors’ involuntary and voluntary rhythms to find the music makes it a unique process, because it can’t be the same twice, even if we are playing the same thing over the same lines.

What is the best story you have from a first date? (can be a terrible first date, or maybe the best one ever!)
I remember when i was in 7th grade I went to Starbucks with a girl I liked. I wore my brothers turtle neck (huge on me), and somehow managed to hit my face against the window, spill the chocolate over myself, and rip the sleeve of my brother’s sweater.. 😉

What’s your idea of a romantic vacation?
no sleep and plenty of amazing food, open spaces and Nature

What’s your favorite love (or anti-love) song? Why?
I’ve just seen a face, Beatles. It just got caught in my head, you know?

* * *

Santiago Cárdenas was born in Bogotá, Colombia (1988). He moved to the USA when he was nine and has been a musician at heart ever since he first picked up a guitar. He studied classical guitar in Boston under Robert Ward and then travelled several times to Granada, Spain, to study Flamenco guitar and “palmas”. Upon his return, he attended Berklee College of Music from which he graduated as a Professional Musician. Santiago’s interests range from Flamenco, Brazilian and Cape Verdean rhythms to Jazz, Classical music, World Music pedagogy and ethnomusicology. He is a composer and is working on his first non-commercial studio recording this Spring. He performs and teaches in the Boston area.

Leave a Reply

