Meet the Playwright: Meron Langsner, Burning up the Dictionary

Meron Langsner at VTG’s first reading of Burning up the Dictionary

Meet Meron Langsner (who yes, I know, you’ve met before – but you probably haven’t heard the story of his worst first date ever yet!). This is the fantastic man who wrote Burning up the Dictionary, which will play from November 28 to December 1!

How did you get involved in theatre? What is your first theatre memory?
I took a Modern Dance class as a freshman in college because it was something that was recommended to me as a martial artist.  I got into theatre through dance. My first theatre memory is seeing a production about the life of Jim Thorpe when I was six or seven years old on a school trip.

What is the best story you have from a first date? (can be a terrible first date, or maybe the best one ever!)
This is a long story made very short: A date was once arrested in front of me, handcuffs and all, on our way to see a show.  This was a person I had just met, and I was wondering about what the demands of chivalry were in this situation.  After she was taken away and I was asking a different police officer on the scene what I needed to do to bail her out, I mentioned to him that it was a first date.  The officer laughed and said “you know you’re going to get lucky if you bail a girl out of jail.” All in all it was a pretty surreal evening. I recently started working on a short piece about this that I’m calling The Demands of Chivalry.

Do you think celebrating Valentine’s Day is corny?
Yes, but with the right person that is part of the fun.

What’s your favorite love (or anti-love) song? Why?
I really enjoyed various versions of Somebody That I Used to Know that were circulating, though that song has been a bit overplayed.  I was listening to Arson and Ghosts by Matthew Breinrich when I was working on some of the scenes in BUTD.
http://www.myspace.com/matthewbreinichmusic/music

Leave a Reply

