Meet the Cast: Rachel Katherine Alexander, Carmen

_DSC0287large

Meet Rachel Katherine Alexander, who you may have seen last summer in our production of True Believers! Rachel says her favorite thing about her character is her fire and the way she pursues her goals with determination, even when she isn’t sure what she wants.

If you weren’t in theatre, what would be your dream job?
Now, some people may be surprised by this but my close friends should already know it. If I could do anything in the world I would, beyond the shadow of a doubt, become a Rap Artist.

If theatre is not your full-time job, what do you do on the side?
I currently work for a Private Equity Firm in downtown Boston… Don’t worry; I don’t really know what that means either. Essentially it means that my loans are going to get paid off quickly, and then I’ll be free to roam to the ends of the earth – and that I now possess the “Klass” card that I can throw down in social situations as needed.

What has been your favorite thing about working on the play so far?
Learning to Fly! And all the Stage combat we’ve done with Meron – I always love me some good old fashioned violence and frankly I haven’t had enough of it in my acting career yet. I’m just hoping my knees will develop an immunity to bruises before opening night…

Have you ever been fascinated by a certain aspect of science?
Oh man. During college I got really into Quantum Physics and all things mind-blowing about our world. Multiple Universes, the idea of Infinity, Black Holes, Extraterrestrial Life, the formation of Stars etc. My all-time favorite question to ponder is: What exactly is the Soul? I strictly dabble but anytime you want someone to contemplate the Universe with, I’m your girl.

Are you listening to any music to prepare for this show?
Yes actually. I’ve made a ‘Carmen’ playlist on my iPod that I listen to every day. Lots of Lana del Rey (because she is SO Carmen), The Killers, Joan Jett, Amy Winehouse, Modest Mouse, Dashboard Confessional, Matchbox Twenty, Florence and the Machine, and any other artist with songs that make me feel Carmen.

Do you have any special relationships with geographic locations (good or bad) like the characters in the play have or had with the cabin?
When I was 7 I saw the ocean for the first time. I was living in Lynn and for the next 13 years, Lynn Beach became a haven for me. My best friend and I would be there every day: Swimming, running, hanging out, meeting boys, staying out late, and generally getting into non-trouble. Through college I still made a point of stopping there at least once a day just to breathe. It reminds me a lot of when Carmen talks about the quality of the air at the Cabin – “Lightens the lungs”

Leave a Reply

