Meet the Crew: Zach Winston: Stage Manager

Zach WinstonMeet Zach Winston, Vagabond Theatre Group Literary Manager and Stage Manager for Supergravity and the Eleventh Dimension! This is Zach’s first shot at Stage Managing and he says, “the weirdest thing (which means my favorite thing because I’m sick like that) is that I’m actually enjoying it. Watching these wonderful actors and designers doing their best work for this fantastic play has been an experience I’ll cherish forever.”

If theatre is not your full-time job, what do you do on the side?
For the past three months or so, I’ve been working for a kids party company. Most of the time, it involves a large amount dancing in an Elmo or Mickey Mouse costume. I love working with kids, I love entertaining, and I love the satisfaction of entertaining kids. Also, I just started working for the new Dead Sea Scrolls exhibit at the Museum of Science. I’m an exhibit host meaning I had to memorize a four-page presentation which I perform about a dozen times a day. Part of my sanity was sacrificed, but it’s a good way to keep myself in front of an audience while I manage this wonderful play!

What has been your favorite thing about working on the play so far?
James sent me a text message one day that said, “How would you feel about stage managing this summer?” I have never stage managed in my life, nor have I ever ASM’d, called cues, or compiled rehearsal reports. Needless to say, I told James I was waiting for some sort of sick punch-line. But after giving it some thought, I decided to give it a try. The weirdest thing (which means my favorite thing because I’m sick like that) is that I’m actually enjoying it. Watching these wonderful actors and designers doing their best work for this fantastic play has been an experience I’ll cherish forever.

Have you ever been fascinated by a certain aspect of science?
Paleontology. Just finished watching Walking with Dinosaurs for, like, the fourth or fifth time. Although, it’s not so much the bones that fascinate me about Dinosaurs as much as it’s the monolithic masses of evolutionary prodigy competing for their very survival. It’s fantastic drama.

What totally confuses you about physics?
How I’ve managed to go this far into life without any major physical injury. I’ve suffered many a sleepless night anxiously awaiting the day. Physicists fear me.

If someone were to read your fortune (a la Carmen in the play), what do you think it would say?
Ever see that episode of Rocko’s Modern Life where Filburt keeps opening fortune cookies that say, “bad luck and extreme misfortune will infest your pathetic soul for all the eternity?” I always picture something like that happening to me. But, with my luck, I imagine I’d get something tragically common and mundane like, “one week from today you will fulfill a minor obligation, but you cannot do it unless you are to drink a moderately sized cup of dark coffee from Dunkin Donuts.”

Do you have any special relationships with geographic locations (good or bad) like the characters in the play have or had with the cabin?
We’ve certainly had our ups and downs, but Salem will always be a special place for me. I started going to school there in 2007, then moved there in 2009. Some of my best friends were met there, and much of my growth as a performer and a person occurred there. Not to mention The Willows and The Waterfront are beautiful this time of year. Definitely feeling a day-trip soon. Who’s with me?

Leave a Reply

