Meet the Cast: Devon Scalisi

Devon Scalisi as DanDevon Scalisi plays Dan in Supergravity and the Eleventh Dimension, the quick tempered, guilt-ridden alpha male. Devon says that if Carmen (Rachel Katherine Alexander’s character) were to read his fortune, she would probably tell him that he’ll create more ideas and commentaries in my mind than I’m ever going to put action to. And that within this process-based struggle of creation, he’s going to share a love with those closest to him in the most altruistic manner that he possibly can. He thinks she would also probably tell him that he’s sure to accidentally piss off a lot of people along the way, which he blames with a smile on his Irish genes.

What is your favorite thing about your character?
I appreciate Dan’s want to understand ‘the truth.’ Although his motivations for wanting to uncover ‘the truth’ of the terrible events that he and his friends experienced are questionable, the righteousness of his goals come with a conviction that I believe many people rarely experience.

What totally confuses you about physics?
I really enjoy aspects of conceptual physics, big picture reports and conversation. Or even more grandiose ideas like the purpose of the Large Hadron Collider in Switzerland. But what confuses me about physics? Everything. If Commander Data can’t explain it to me, then save your breath.

What’s the weirdest way you’ve ever entered a building?
Oh, gosh. Well, I was a little bit of a hellraiser when I younger; bored suburban kids looking for an outlet get into all kinds of trouble. There was the time when I broke into a GE Power Plant when I was fourteen or so by crawling through an air duct. Or the time when I broke into my middle school by climbing through a rooftop sun window. Or the time I scaled a three-story building to climb through a window of a locked apartment. Clearly, I would never do anything like that now, for more reasons than just legality; I’m conscious about walking down steps too quickly now. File this transition under: “Things That Change When You’re No Longer a Kid.”

Are you listening to any music to prepare for this show?
Always. I’m not as into the contemporary music scene these days, but some old stand-byes that are ‘Supergravity’/character-specific: The Pixies “Where is my Mind”, Elliot Smith “Needle in the Hay”, The Methadones “ILL at Ease”, Nirvana “Territorial Pissings”, Modest Mouse “March Into the Sea”, Radiohead “A Wolf at the Door” Green Day “Desensitized,” and Tom Petty “Don’t Fade on Me.”

Leave a Reply

