Meet the Cast: Kevin Paquette

Kevin Paquette as TomMeet Kevin Pacquet, who plays Tom in Supergravity and the Eleventh Dimension! Tom is a theoretical physicist and a sort of narrator in the show who spends his time obsessing over the secrets of the universe. He ponders things such as parallel universes and time travel. Science is basically his spirituality, and he uses his work to get around his grief, anger, and sadness, rather than just confront them head on. It doesn’t always work in the way he hopes, and when that happens, it only makes everything worse.

If theatre is not your full-time job, what do you do on the side?
I am a server at Zuma Tex-Mex in Fanueil Hall; Home of the $4.00 margarita. It is really really exciting… I wish there was more to it than that, but there isn’t really.

What has been your favorite thing about working on the play so far?
I am enjoying every part of the process so far, and I think that is because of the people who are involved in it. Everyone really wants to be there and is enjoying themselves, and they are all in it for the right reasons which is to put on a good show. There aren’t any huge egos going around and everyone remembers to have fun. For as serious as this show gets, there isn’t a rehearsal that goes by without laughter. I love going to rehearsal. It’s where I want to be most of the time.

What is your favorite thing about your character?
I love how passionate he is about his work. I think it is the part of him that I connect to the most. The way he feels about the universe, and time and space. Such is the way I am about acting and theatre. He is obsessed with it and consumed by it, which is unhealthy at times, but it brings him peace and it helps him better understand himself and the world around him, which is something I completely understand. It is a part of him. He doesn’t know how not to do it.

Have you ever been fascinated by a certain aspect of science?
Just like Tom, I love the idea of Time Travel. It is probably because of the sort of movies and television I watch, such as Doctor Who. I was also a big fan of history in High School, and I would love to be able to Vacation in the past. Check out Ancient Rome or go figure out this Shakespearian authorship question once and for all. I don’t think I would want to go to my future though, that could get really scary.

What’s the weirdest way you’ve ever entered a building?
I pretty much only enter buildings in practical ways. Though there have been times where I have had to break into my own house via the window because I had lost my key. The weirdest way I would want to enter a building is to just crash through a big glass window and make a big scene, but say nothing and continue to my business.

Are you listening to any music to prepare for this show?
I listen to a lot of music in general and I tend to make playlists for when I am reading a script. Currently my playlist is a lot of instrumental post rock and very ambient music. A lot of “Sigur Ros”, “This Will Destroy You”, and “Broken Social Scene”. It is very relaxing and is a type of music that allows me to read and think. I also think that some of it works very well the sci-fi/ethereal feel of the show.

Do you have any special relationships with geographic locations (good or bad) like the characters in the play have or had with the cabin?
When I was in high school, my friends and I started going to a park near the fens called, “Mother’s Rest”. If we didn’t want to be in school, we would just leave and go there. Hang out, swing, get into all different types of debauchery. We still go there when everyone is in town. It is just so full of love and great memories. I don’t have a single bad recollection of that place and it is very special to me. More so now then when we were in high school because we don’t all see each other as often, but when we go there, it’s as if nothing has changed. I love it.

Leave a Reply

