Meet the Designers: Lucas Garrity, Lighting Designer, Master Electrician

Lucas GarrityLucas Garrity, Lighting Designer and Master Electrician was one of the founders of Vagabond, years and years ago with our first show, Martin McDonagh’s A Skull in Connemara and loves Vagabond so much that he keeps coming back! Lucas enjoys the challenge of working with small theatre companies and the sense of collaboration he gets from our inspired production team.

If theatre is not your full-time job, what do you do on the side? 
As with some of the other members of Vagabond theatre is what I do on the side and supply chain management is what I do as my primary source of employment. I work for Raytheon Company in Andover Massachusetts in support of procuring material for the manufacture of defense related materials. For theatre I work with smaller theatre companies for passion and also work as a freelance theatrical electrician and lighting designer to learn more about theatrical production and as a second source of employment.

What has been your favorite thing about working on the play so far? 
So far working on this production I have most enjoyed the collaboration among the production team as well as the performance team. Vagabond stresses theatre through collaboration and it is a pretty typical morning when I wake up to at least one email time stamped 2am from a production member where they were stuck with inspiration and wanted to not only record that inspiration, but share it with the team. By working together we are able to create a more creative end product.

What do you think is the most challenging thing about your design for this show? Why are you looking forward to making it work?
The most challenging aspect for this show as a designer and as with many Vagabond productions is the lack of resources at our disposal. I do not say that as a negative, but rather as a challenge to be accepted and conquered. I have colleagues working in the Boston theatre scene that let obstacles prevent them from finding creative solutions, but through dedication and determination I have been able to create some of my best work and will do no less for Supergravity.

What totally confuses you about physics?
A lot confuses me about physics! If I had to choose one thing that my mind has a particularly hard time wrapping itself around would be flight. I understand the mechanics of flight and that air has a density that when manipulated by the wing of a plane that density creates flight, but it still just doesn’t make sense that a 300+ ton airplane could defy the laws of gravity. I have enjoyed many a summer day at Revere beach watching the plans slowly descend into Logan and flight just continues to amaze me.

Leave a Reply

